NPR to Receive First-Ever Pioneer Award at iHeartRadio Podcast Awards

iHeartRadio Podcast Awards

iHeartRadio Podcast Awards

Right on the heels of the announcement that the inaugural iHeartRadio Podcast Awards Presented By Capital One® will be taking place in January, another exciting piece of news has been revealed: NPR will be honored with the first-ever iHeartRadio Podcast Pioneer Award.

iHeartRadio will recognize NPR for being a driving and innovative force in the creation of the podcasting industry, and will pay tribute to the renowned non-profit multimedia organization’s groundbreaking contributions to podcasting’s expanding role in today’s popular culture.

NPR launched its first digital-only podcasting predecessor, "All Songs Considered," back in April 2000 and officially debuted NPR Podcasts in August 2005 with a full slate of 174 programs, including 17 original podcasts. In less than a year, they reached 13 million downloads for all of their podcast programming and reached more than 80 million downloads by February 2007. Today, NPR remains a leading podcasting publisher with over 40 active podcasts on topics ranging from the day's news to arts, culture, and science, that reach a unique monthly audience of 16,386,000 (per podtrac).

The iHeartRadio Podcast Awards Presented By Capital One® will take place on January 18, 2019 at 8 p.m. PT at the iHeartRadio Theater Los Angeles. The new awards show will celebrate the very best in podcasting, featuring 22 categories, and will recognize the incredible talent and wide variety of leaders across the booming podcasting industry. And the show will be hosted by Holly Frey, co-host of "Stuff You Missed in History Class," Charlamagne Tha God, nationally-syndicated on-air host and co-host of "The Brilliant Idiots" and "The Breakfast Club" podcasts, and Bobby Bones, top Country radio host, multiplatform personality and host of the leading Country music focused podcast "Bobbycast" and creator of the Nashville Podcast Network.

Voting is now ongoing, and will run through January 6, 2019. Fans can vote for their favorite podcasts online and socially across Twitter and Instagram. Visit for a complete list of nominees and voting details.  

Aside from all of the fan voting, the winners of five major categories — Podcast of the Year, Breakout Podcast, Best Branded Podcast, Best Social Impact from Podcast/Host and Podcast Innovator Award — will be determined by a panel of blue-ribbon podcast industry leaders, creatives and visionaries, including Marc Smerling ("Crimetown"), Jake Brennan ("Disgraceland") Alex Blumberg (Gimlet), Conal Byrne and Chris Peterson (iHeartMedia), Aaron Mahnke (Lore), Anya Grundmann (NPR), Max Cutler (Parcast) and Owen Grover (Pocket Casts), Maggie Taylor (PRX), Chuck Bryant and Josh Clark ("Stuff You Should Know"), Holly Frey ("Stuff You Missed in History Class"), Donald Albright and Payne Lindsay (Tenderfoot TV), Sim Sarna (Unqualified Media), and Hernan Lopez (Wondery).